Sonoma County Landmarks
Duncans Mills was established in 1877 by Alexander Duncan as a company town for the Duncans Mills Land and Lumber Company. In 1860, it was located near the mouth of the Russian River at the present location of Bridgehaven. The town moved when the North Pacific Coast Railroad offered to build a bridge across the river at its present location.
The Duncans Mills Historic District is a contiguous district containing thirty properties, nine of which contribute to the district. No buildings remain from the original mill, but the 1907 railroad depot has been restored, as well as an early commercial building dating from 1877, John Orr’s Saloon.
| Name | Year | Address | Remarks | Sort Address | Sort Name |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Superintendent’s House | 1878 | 24951 CA-116 | CA-116 24951 | Superintendent’s House | |
| Landscape Feature | Main Street | Main | Landscape Feature | ||
| Country Store | 1878 | Main Street | Main | Country Store | |
| Wordly Goods | 1877 | Main Street | Main | Wordly Goods | |
| Wine and Cheese | 1880 | Main Street | Main | Wine and Cheese | |
| Scotta School | 1885 | Main Street | Main | Scotta School | |
| General Store | 1888 | Main Street | Main | General Store | |
| Depot | 1907 | Moscow Road | Moscow | Depot |