National Register of Historic Places in Nye County

National Register #82003238: Nye County Courthouse in Tonopah 23 February 2007
(Click Photo to Zoom)
National Register #82003238
Nye County Courthouse
McCulloch Street
Built 1905

Nye County was named in honor of James Warren Nye, governor of Nevada Territory and the first United States Senator after Nevada was granted statehood on October 31, 1864.

The town of Ione was the original Nye County seat. The state legislature moved the county seat to Belmont in 1867 then to Tonopah in 1905.

The two-story courthouse of ashlar and concrete was completed within a year. With its rounded arches supported by clustered columns, it exhibits substantial Romanesque details that are rare in Nevada.

In 1907, the county added a two-story jailhouse of the same ashlar stone composition.

Diverging from the original Romanesque style, three 1960s additions included new wings made of concrete block with vertically grouped windows and a flat roof.

A porch of steel and glass was added in recent years.

Source: Online Nevada Encyclopedia

Previous | Next
Nye County: List | Map
State of Nevada: List | Map