California Historical Landmarks in Kern County

California Historical Landmark 97
Oak Creek Pass
Tehachapi Willow Springs Road

Oak Creek Pass

In 1776, Father Francisco Garcés used the Oak Creek Pass to return to the Mojave after exploring the San Joaquin Valley, as did Frémont in 1844-1845. Until the railroad was built through the Tehachapi Pass in 1876, Oak Creek Pass was the only route used through the Tehachapi Mountains.

Citation from California Office of Historic Preservation

Kern County: List | Map
California: List | Map