San Francisco Landmarks
Designed by Townsend & Wyneken and built by F. W. Kern for bricklayer/contractor William Oakley and his wife Jennie, a dressmaker, this two story over basement Stick Style "double residence" visually dominates and enhances the southwest corner of Fair Oaks and 23rd Street due to the unusual richness of its architectural detailing. Particularly unique are the very tall and narrow windows, Italianate in feeling, on the 23rd Street facade.
William and Jenny Oakley owned the property until 1921. It remains a private residence.
Source: San Francisco City Planning Commission Resolution No. 11558 dated 15 December 1988.